Virginia Traffic Laws and Why You Might Need an Attorney

Traffic law can vary quite a bit from state to state, especially when it comes to the harshness of penalties. Understanding the exact nature of these penalties and when they apply can mean the difference between a few days and a few years in jail. To that end, here are some facts about Virginia’s traffic laws.

How strict are Virginia’s DUI laws?

Virginia has a more specific set of penalties than most states, attaching separate punishments to first, second, third, and subsequent convictions, then additional penalties based on how many convictions you’ve had in the last ten or five years. Receiving three convictions within ten years can result in more than half a year in prison and permanent forfeiture of your vehicle.
Additionally, if you had a particularly high BAC, then further jail time may be added. Between .15% and .20% carries an additional five or ten days in jail, depending on whether it was your first or second offense in the last ten years. Over .20%, those penalties double. Though these particular penalties aren’t very large in the context of a third or fourth offense, they could result in doubling or even tripling your potential jail time if it’s your first or second conviction.

What is the penalty for running a red light in Virginia?

Running a red light or stop sign in Virginia can mean as little as a small fine or as much as the suspension of your license. Ignoring a red light will cost you up to $350, whereas failing to stop at a stop sign is only $250.

However, each also carries the additional penalty of demerit points on your license. The accumulation of too many will result in the loss of your license, so if you’re already near that point, failing to heed a simple traffic signal may cost you your license.

Should you hire a traffic attorney?

If you have been charged with a traffic violation, then you should consult a traffic attorney in Chesterfield Virginia at the very least. They will be able to look at the specifics of your case and help you decide if hiring an attorney is the right solution. In some cases, an attorney could save you from the majority of the maximum penalties allowable for the specified offenses. Even if the help of an attorney may only result in limited savings on the financial side, shaving any amount of time off of a prison sentence can be invaluable.

Understanding Washington State Workers Compensation Laws

Washington is the United States’ largest exporter, contributing 5% of all U.S. exports, with primarily timber and aerospace products. As multiple job sites expand, so does the chance that an employee will receive an injury, this is why Washington places a requirement that employers must have workers’ compensation insurance. If you were hurt at work in Washington state, continue reading to discover the basics of Washington workers’ compensation laws.

What Is Workers’ Compensation?

Workers’ compensation is a type of employer insurance that gives injured workers compensation for work-involved injuries. Workers’ compensation insurance protects employers as well as employees from the financial hardship caused by work-involved injury or occupational illness. In Washington, employees are given two options to obtain workers’ compensation coverage. The first is that employers may purchase their insurance through the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries. DLI handles claims and benefits out of an insurance pool known as the Washington State Fund, which is funded by premiums paid by both employers and employees.

The second option is that some employers can qualify for self-insurance if they enough financial stability (a minimum of $25 million in assets), effective accident prevention program, and effective administrative organization for workers’ compensation.  If an employer is self-insured, the rights and entitled benefits of an injured employee stays consistent, but who handles your claim does differ. Under the self-insurance, your employer, instead of the DLI, manages the paperwork and funds your claim.

Workers’ Compensation in Washington

The following table includes critical parts of Washington workers’ compensation laws, including important deadlines and forms of benefits from workers compensation attorney in Washington:

Important deadlines
  • 1 year of your injury date to file claim application with L&I or your self-insured employer
  • 2 years from the date of your doctor’s diagnosis for occupational disease claims
Benefits
  • Medical Benefits: payments for expenses related to the injury or occupational disease
  • Wage Replacement: payments for loss of wage for missed work due to your injuries; this doesn’t cover all of your lost wages, only a fraction
  • Prescription Medication: payments for prescription medications necessary for treatment of accepted conditions under open claims
  • Travel Reimbursement: partial payments for travel expenses (traveling more than 15 miles to see a health care provider)
  • Property Reimbursement: payments for personal property lost or damaged during a workplace accident (limited to prescription eyeglasses or contacts, clothing, shoes or boots, and personal protective equipment)
  • Permanent Partial Disability: compensation for physical disability (you can still work, but your physical ability has been impaired)
  • Permanent Total Disability (Pensions): monthly pension if (1) the medical and vocational evidence finds that your injury prevents you from becoming gainfully employed or (2) you have lost, or lost the use of, both legs, both arms, an arm, and a leg, or your vision
Employer Obligation
  • Employers must provide workers’ compensation (also called industrial insurance) coverage for their employees and other eligible workers [Section 51.04.010]

Source: http://statelaws.findlaw.com/washington-law/washington-workers-compensation-laws.html